A wedding

I was an attendee to a wedding (three days ago) that contained two people, two families, and approximately over 100 people sitting in pews and staring as the bride slowly walked down the aisle. You could see her maid of honor’s face swelling with both pride and tears, and the to-be-husband getting a cold sweat in his hands.

I think I could hear his thoughts:

“She is the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. I love her”

He smiled as he took her hand and her mother beamed, her father attempted not to cry, but when your little girl is growing up and walking down the aisle to the new man in her life, emotions are uncontrollable.

“Will you…” the priest asks the groom after a long wait.

“I do, forever and always,” his deep booming voice is shaking, as if he’d been crying, his shoulders are hunched over, worried.

“Will you…” the priest asks the bride after the groom has answered.

“I do, forever and always,” her voice, high and innocent and my attention is drawn to their noses of all things.

As they read the nuptial agreements out loud I’m staring at their noses as the cameras flash about me, tissues are brought out to satiate some running noses.

 

He has a very sharp nose.

She has a very soft nose.

 

“Dear lord,” they both say loudly and together and suddenly I realize that this truly is a match made in heaven. The man’s voice overshadows the girls because of it’s bass tone and it’s power, but there’s a gentleness to it. The woman’s voice shines above his in a beaming ray of light because it’s so light and angelic, it has a power to it. I’m drawn in and I become a little jealous.

 

I want a love like that.

 

Both parents of the couple hug, kiss, and cry, and the community swallows them up, and who wouldn’t? They never asked to love each other, as we later find out in the wedding reception – they just found each other and found everything they ever needed in life.

Leave a Reply

