Service member

I ate lunch with a service member that works with my father today. Smart man, tall man, we sat and and in my ever-awkward presence was silent for most of the conversation, focusing, losing, focusing, losing.

“You’re going to do fine memoric.”

I looked him in the eyes for the first time and he stood up. I stood next to him. I was so small and frail compared to him.

“The small ones always have the most fight, don’t be scared.”

“I don’t have much of a fight,” I whispered. He looked at me and told me that I have much more fight than anybody else in the world could have ever imagined. I had to find it.

I looked up again and stared at his eyes. He wasn’t lying. I knew he wasn’t lying, he told me exactly what I needed to hear.

He told me what I refused to let myself discover.

Leave a Reply

