Shallow people

I went on that date I mentioned the other day only to wake up to a text message the next morning.

More on that later.

The date was blissful, but there was something missing. I could not figure out what it was but there was something missing.

I woke up to a text message that asked me why I refused to have sex before marriage and if there was a chance of me ever changing my mind.

“I want to give my future husband everything I have. My innocence intact.”
“Good then lets just stay as friends.”
“Please elaborate.”
“I’m not a good person. You won’t stay innocent if you stay with me.”
“So, what was the point of yesterday.”
“You want the truth. The whole truth?”
“Yes.”

I sat there staring at my phone for a good five minutes.

“You won’t put out, I’m shallow and I was bored.”
“Thank you for everything. I appreciate your honesty. I harbor no I’ll feelings against you.”

I didn’t cry. I didn’t apologize. I just sat there feeling numb for a few minutes. Was I just nothing more than a simple play toy to satiate the libido of a young man, and even that didn’t happen.

I blocked him. I don’t need people like him in my life. I don’t need the memory that he would have gladly taken away what’s rightly mine.

And yet I feel better than I ever did before. More confident, stronger, just a big change from before.

And just because a jerk walked into my life.

Leave a Reply

