Water child

Natsukashii (懐かしい)
Adj. Suddenly nostalgic, triggered by experiencing something for the first time in years.

It has been eight years since I’ve tasted ocean salt on my lips and rubbed sand over my body, becoming one with nature.

Today, I came back to my childhood. The beach was different, nothing like the beaches of home but I find myself swimming in its waters regardless. Throwing sand in my hair and salt on my lips.

I have been told I’ve been kissed by the ocean, that I am a water child. I don’t doubt it. My true name is completely water based: the happy child of the sea scented river.

While swimming only one phrase ran through my head, the rest were memories of childhood:

Beauty in the water.
Angel of the beach.
Oceans daughter.
I thought love was out of reach.

“Mermaid” – Train

I haven’t felt so at peace in such a long time.

Leave a Reply

