The smiler

I spend a lot of my days listening to the woes of others and trying to solve them. Somebody called me selfless today and said that it was a character fault – there’s such thing as being too selfless and becoming injurious to oneself.

I don’t disagree with him at all; I understand that a lot of things that I do is in the pursuit of being not selfish, only selfless, staying humble, meek, etc. But at the same time, how far is too far?

I find myself asking my question a lot, because in a way, my pursuit of being selfless is becoming selfish.

I blew a wish into the sky.

I find my cheeks hurt from smiling too much; my heart hurts from caring too much.

I find my inspiration still lacking.

Leave a Reply

